eating meat and a 5k

I woke up early this morning and went to the gym with Lu so I’m EXHAUSTED and don’t feel like writing much, but I’m going to recap the major weekend events:

  1.  Finally went to The Hard Grove Cafe in Jersey City.
  2. Ran a 5k for the American Cancer Society on the George Washington Bridge.
  3. Ate meat for the first time since 2008.

On Saturday night, Lu and I finally checked out The Hard Grove Café on Grove Street in Jersey City. What a great idea! The food was awesome (Lu got his fill of Puerto Rican food with a shrimp mofongo) and I had an awesome flavorful salad. The cocktails were fantastic – I had a Grey Goose/Pomegranate/Prosecco drink that knocked me off my chair and we also shared a pitcher of sangria.

photo2

Woke up Sunday morning to run a 5k at 8:15am in Fort Lee, NJ along the George Washington Bridge. It was Lu’s first race and it was also a big accomplishment for my mom – who hasn’t run more than a mile in her life! She trained and ran the whole thing, I was very proud of her. We did it mainly to commemorate my Aunt who passed from cancer this year and it was a great, positive environment and a fun way to spend time celebrating family. Also, it’s easy to run those races when you get to stare at your boyfriend’s cute butt the whole time 🙂 🙂 

photo

photo1

photo3

Sunday night I was doing some recipe testing and made a zucchini pasta with a parmesan garlic olive oil sauce over ground turkey and broccoli. I decided to try it. I swear I had goosebumps and a nervous stomach the whole time. At first, when I was cooking it, I was SO grossed out but after it cooked, it wasn’t terrible. Definitely felt so wrong to eat meat, but I’m glad I tested the dish, because I don’t know the flavors of meat anymore (it’s been since 2008 since I ate any meat other than seafood!)…..

what do you think?

