memorial weekend, dang

my Memorial Day weekend vacation in Napa Valley was absolutely exactly what the doctor ordered: the perfect amount of relaxation and the perfect amount of fun. I couldn’t have spent it with a better group of girls – these girls know me best, we’ve been friends since elementary school and that’s a bond that you don’t always get!

we started off with a night in San Francisco with some delicious Mexican food and drink at Tropiseuno. hands down the best michelada I have ever had (and if there’s one thing I know well, it’s a michelada). we were so excited to get the weekend started! I went on a run Saturday morning – I did the first four miles of my marathon and it felt so good to run it! I still can’t believe I did that…. a beautiful view:

IMG_4098

 

the second we arrived to napa valley and got to our hotel (the meritage resort & spa), we walked right out to the pool which was gorgeous, literally in the middle of the trinitas vineyard. absolutely stunning. the weather was perfect – and I have the sunburn to prove it! we spent the day by the pool, sipping on arnold palmers and bloody mary’s.

IMG_4102

IMG_4107

we ended the day playing this fun game cards against humanity that sarah brought. got a little rowdy.

IMG_4140

after that, we got all dolled up and went on this funny party bus that had a strobe light in it and went out to dinner to fish story. deliciousness! we were pooped after that and came back to the hotel.

IMG_4179

IMG_4180

IMG_4188

 

the next day we went on our 4 hours of wine tours (first woke each other up with mimosas!)- it’s SO much fun, you just rent a car (we had a suburban) and basically get driven around to the vineyards, testing wines and enjoying the beautiful countryside. we went to three vineyards – sadly, I can’t recall the last one but it was the most beautiful. we laid in the sun and cheersed our glasses full of the best reds, whites and sparklings. what a blast! we ended up going out to dinner at this great little place and had some ridiculous burrata.

IMG_4218

IMG_4222

IMG_4224

IMG_4229

IMG_4241

IMG_4260

 

after the day of wine tours, we woke up and drove to san francisco for a little tourism. we drove up lombard street (I was impressed with Shannon’s courage), stopped at The Grove on Chestnut in the marina and I stopped at my favorite little cupcake place for a little red velvet action (Karla’s Cupcakes, I love you!)…. we all went to the airport together, sad to part. I can’t wait for reunion 2014…. where will it be???

2 responses to “memorial weekend, dang

what do you think?

