quinoa patties

Lu and I are trying to be healthy, after coming off a 2 month bender where we ate a lot of sweets… I take 70% of the responsibility, since my sweet tooth is pretty big. To recover, I’ve been going vegan for about a week and a half (I had 1 slip up, oops!) and I feel one hundred times better. I have 1.5 weeks left (except for this Saturday, a friend of Lu’s invited us over for homemade sushi – I can’t give that up!), and I’m not sure I’ll be going back to cooking fish – I like the hiatus. I feel better, lighter, more fulfilled.

Last night we went to the gym and I started making dinner at 8:30, which yea, is late. But I wanted to make something delicious, as usual. So, I came up with this concoction:

Roasted quinoa sweet potato patties (cooked quinoa combined with pureed onions and chickpeas, sweet potatoes – boiled first, garlic, chili powder, Mediterranean Oregano, cumin, salt, pepper, and the tiniest bit of breadcrumbs).

Seasoned some corn with chili powder, olive oil, salt and pepp and threw it in the oven with broccoli tossed with olive oil, fresh lemon juice, salt, pepper and garlic.

Toasted some whole wheat English muffins and put sliced tomato, mashed sautéed avocado, hummus and sautéed onions with the finished quinoa patties.

VOILA

photo (2)

 

 

 

what do you think?

